- Streetsblog San Francisco - http://sf.streetsblog.org -

This Week: Supes Take a Second Look at 8 Washington

Posted By Robert Prinz On September 4, 2012 @ 1:27 pm In Livable Streets Events | No Comments

This week, the SF Board of Supervisors revisits the 8 Washington project, the SF Bike Party heads back to the 60′s, the SF Bike Coalition takes a survey ride on the parking-protected bike lanes in GG Park, and Sunday Streets hits NoPa, the Western Addition, and the Fillmore.

Here are all the highlights from the Streetsblog calendar [1]:

  • TuesdaySFMTA Board Meeting [2]. The board is expected to approve bike lanes and traffic calming measures along Ortega Street [3] in the Outer Sunset, which passes Sunset Elementary and AP Giannini Middle School. 1 p.m.
  • Also TuesdaySF Board of Supervisors Meeting [4]. On the agenda is a hearing for the board’s re-vote on the 8 Washington project — speak up if you want to see less traffic-inducing car parking [5] on the Embarcadero. 2 p.m.
  • WednesdaySVBC: The State of Bicycle Planning in the South Bay [6]. Join San José Bike/Ped Program Coordinator John Brazil for this tour of the city’s newest downtown bike projects, then park at Faber’s Cyclery for a discussion on “bicycle planning opportunities and barriers” with local experts and city staff. 6:30 p.m.
  • FridaySF Bike Party: Summer of Love Ride [7]. Relive San Francisco in the 1960′s or bring your own new spin to the Summer of Love on this cycle-delic ride through the city. 7:30 p.m.
  • SundaySunday Streets: Western Addition/NoPa [8]. Sunday Streets will grace the Western Addition this weekend, bringing lots of car-free activities from the Panhandle to the Fillmore. The route will be a bit different this year, running along Fulton by Alamo Square and on Fillmore Street ending at Geary Boulevard. 11 a.m.
  • Next Monday: SFBC JFK Drive Survey Ride [9]. The SF Bicycle Coalition will take a survey bike ride along the city’s first parking-protected bikeway on John F. Kennedy Drive in Golden Gate Park to get feedback on the project from the people who use it. 6 p.m.

Keep an eye on the calendar for updated listings. Got an event we should know about? Drop us a line [10].


Article printed from Streetsblog San Francisco: http://sf.streetsblog.org

URL to article: http://sf.streetsblog.org/2012/09/04/this-week-supes-take-a-second-look-at-8-washington/

URLs in this post:

[1] Streetsblog calendar: http://sf.streetsblog.org/category/events/

[2] SFMTA Board Meeting: http://sf.streetsblog.org/2012/09/04/sfmta-board-meeting-40/

[3] Ortega Street: http://www.sfmta.com/cms/ocalm/OrtegaStreet.htm

[4] SF Board of Supervisors Meeting: http://sf.streetsblog.org/2012/09/04/sf-board-of-supervisors-meeting-8-washington-public-hearing/

[5] less traffic-inducing car parking: http://sf.streetsblog.org/2012/03/23/planning-commission-oks-parking-saturated-condo-project-at-the-embarcadero/

[6] SVBC: The State of Bicycle Planning in the South Bay: http://sf.streetsblog.org/2012/09/02/svbc-the-state-of-bicycle-planning-in-the-south-bay/

[7] SF Bike Party: Summer of Love Ride: http://sf.streetsblog.org/2012/09/02/sf-bike-party-summer-of-love-ride/

[8] Sunday Streets: Western Addition/NoPa: http://sf.streetsblog.org/2012/03/11/sunday-streets-4/

[9] SFBC JFK Drive Survey Ride: http://sf.streetsblog.org/2012/09/04/sfbc-jfk-drive-survey-ride/

[10] Drop us a line: http://sf.streetsblog.org/suggest-event/

Copyright © 2008 Streetsblog. All rights reserved.